When you stop using an app in the main Wavebox window you can set it to automatically go to 'sleep'.  This is to stop processing power being used unnecessarily on your machine.


Find out more about the benefits of sleeping accounts in this blog post


When you return to a sleeping account, it will take a few moments for the app to wake up and return back to normal.

Configuring Sleep

Once you've added an app to Wavebox, it automatically sets the sleep timeout at 5 minutes. Fully integrated apps will continue on sending notifications to Wavebox whilst sleeping, meaning you will continue to get notifications and unread badge counts when working in other accounts whilst using almost no resources. To change the way sleep works...

1. When an account is coming out of sleep, a message appears on screen to let you know that this happened. You can disable sleep right here by clicking Disable Sleep

2. If you want more control over how an app sleeps, open the app settings and look for the Behaviour section. From here you can toggle sleep on and off and change the period before sleep is enabled

Manually activating Sleep

Whether an app has sleep configured or not, you can manually trigger sleep at any time by right clicking on the app and picking sleep or awaken. You can even sleep an entire group, which is super handy if you're completely done with it!

Sleep & Notifications & Badges

What's the different between an integrated and linked account?

Fully integrated apps will normally continue sending notifications to Wavebox whilst sleeping.  So you will continue to get notifications and unread badge counts when working in other apps.


However some apps, including linked accounts, will not send notifications when the account is asleep.  If this is the case, you will see a warning message in orange under 'Behaviours' in the Account Settings. If you want to keep getting 'new' notifications for these accounts when they're not in use, then uncheck the 'Sleep' box to cancel sleeping.